First week in the MTC

DSCN0274DSCN0058Bonjour ma famille et mes aimes!!!

Wow, I cant believe I am actually in  the MTC writing my first letter home. This has been the most overwhelming and exhausting week of my life. I feel like I have been in the MTC for weeks when I have only been here for 6 days. I am not going to lie it was hard adjusting and kind of stressful the first few days but little by little it gets better everyday. I have grown to LOVE the MTC. There is just a spirit here that is so unique. Everyone is so friendly and excited to be a missionary.

My first day in the MTC was completely crazy. I didnt know where anything was or where I was going. I walked into my first French class right when I got there. My teacher didnt speak a word of English the whole class. I remember just sitting in class having my teacher spitting out so much french thinking to myself what did I just get myself into?? Now I look back at it and just laugh.

I cant believe how much I have learned here already. My testimony has grown so much in the last week. I have learned so much about myself and the love my Savior has for me. I cant explain the sweet feeling of peace and comfort my Savior has brought to me through my times of need this past week. One of the most stressful times here was when I had to teach my first lesson in French. We taught the third day. I was so nervous and had no clue how I was going to teach a lesson in all French. After my lesson I felt so disappointed in myself. I felt like I made absolutely no sense. But little by little the lessons have become easier. I can actually bare my testimony it may be simple but it is sincere and truthful. I love the feeling of the spirit I have felt as I teach my investigator Lisanne. I have truly grown to love her as we teach her. Even though this past week I have felt inadequate, stressed, overwhelmed, and defeated I have also felt the Holy Ghost and the love of my Savior and Heavenly Father more than ever and that feeling cancels out all the bad. I have learned how much I need my Savior I cant bring people unto him if I am not putting all my trust in him. I need to forget about myself and turn outward and think about others just as the Savior would. I may feel inadequate but the Lord is NOT inadequate.

Another thing that has really helped this week is the bond I have created with my district. I love my whole district and especially my companion. It is always good after a 3 hour class of French to share a good talk or laugh with them. There are 4 sisters and 2 elders going to Montreal in my district and then two other elders going to New Hampshire. They are all so unique and all bring something new whether we are at lunch talking, learning french, or learning about the gospel. I love my companion Sister Davis. She is from Colorado Springs. We are very different, but have grown to love one another. I also absolutely love my teachers. They seem so excited to be teaching us each day. Another thing that I always look forward to is Gym time at the end of each day. As a whole zone we will play big games of kickball or volleyball. I love just taking a break from everything and being outside with my zone.

I honestly cant believe how much I get done each day. Waking up at 6:30 every morning really does give you soo much time compared to walking up at 10:30… But everyday we have personal study time, companionship study, language study, prepare lessons, and then two three hour classes of French. Then we end each day with Gym time and once a week do a service project. I think the best day at the MTC has to be Sundays. Its so nice to take a break from classes and language study. I love going to devotional, relief society, Sacrament, and choir practice. Sunday helps you recharge for the rest of the week. I have also ran into so many familar faces here like Sister Warner, Elder Lees, Sister Green, Elder Gleason, and Elder Wilborn. I love seeing people I know it makes me so happy. Well I could go on telling you so much more but this letter is getting a little lengthy. I hope everything is going great back home. You are always in my prays and thoughts. I love you all. And would love to hear from you. I dont have much time to email so a letter would be wonderful! Letters at the MTC are like gold. Just remember the church is true. And that we can do all things through Christ and his Atonement. I love you! Also since I am going to Canada I guess I should wish you all Happy Canada Day!!! Also keep me in your prayers that I can learn French.

Love,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

