Week 2 at the MTC!

With my companion, Soeur Davis

With my companion, Soeur Davis

 

My District

My District

imageimage imageBonjour!!

This last week has just been fantastic here at the MTC. So many fun and new things happened this week. The 2nd week was a 100 times better than the first week. I actually know what I am doing and where I am going. I can understand a little more french than at first. I can’t believe how much I can already say in french. I can bare my testimony, say a prayer, introduce myself and say a little about me, recite the first vision from memory, three scriptures and kind of teach lessons all in french. I can also understand way more of what my teachers are saying. It may be super hard and discouraging at times to learn a language but it is also a huge testimony builder. I have grown so close to my Savior. I know that through him I can learn the language. I could not serve a mission without the help of my Savior. I just have to remember to be patient with myself and that it will come little by little.

Also, this last week was super fun because we got to celebrate the 4th of July here at the MTC. That night they had a special devotional, then we got to watch 17 miracles (which got everyone pretty excited here… its so funny to see what things you get excited for now as a missionary) and then to end the night we watched the fireworks from the Stadium of Fire and got free ice cream. I have never appreciated fireworks so much in my life before. Ha I loved watching them. It was just fun to take a break from our studies for a little while. On the downside that morning around 8 I was doing my service project that morning with my companion… we got the awful job of cleaning toilets. I just leaned out of the toilet I was cleaning and told Soeur Davis if I was at home right now I would probably be watching a 4th of July parade with my family and eating doughnuts. That was kind of a depressing thought I guess, but funny at the same time.

This last week we taught our last lesson to our investigator Lisianne. I just grew to love her so much. At the end of our lesson she committed to baptism. I felt sooo much joy when she told us she felt the Book of Mormon was true and that Joseph Smith was a true prophet. I was just so happy for her. After we taught her we learned the real story about Lisianne. The person we were really teaching was a return missionary that taught Lisianne on her mission. I also found out she knew English the whole time… But it was so amazing to hear the story of Lisianne. It was so weird because I have never really met Lisianne but love her SOO MUCH!! This last week we also got two new investigators Lupe and Denis (that are really just my teachers). They take on the role of real people they taught on their missions. It may sound weird but when you teach them I can feel the spirit so strongly and really feel like I am teaching a real investigator. I literally love the people I teach and more importantly feel the love the Savior has for them. I have learned how important it is to teach with the spirit. It matters less on what you are saying and more on what they are feeling. As they receive a personal witness for themselves of the truthfulness of what we are teaching. I never knew how powerful a sincere and simple testimony could be. Every time we end a lesson with bearing our testimonies it is one of the times I can feel the spirit the strongest. My teachers here at the MTC have strengthened my testimonies in ways they don’t even know. I love my teachers. I learn so much from them. I can tell they really care about us. I can’t even imagine saying goodbye to them.

More than half of my zone has left! It was so hard to say goodbye to the people that helped me so much when I first entered the MTC. I grew so close to my sister training leaders. They were the best examples to me of the kind of missionary I want to be. Tomorrow we get 47 new french speaking missionaries that will be split between the two french speaking zones. I can’t wait for them to come!! Also, another fun thing we discovered this week is playing soccer outside on the field! It is like one of my favorite times of the day. I love playing soccer and feel like a professional because none of the other girls really have ever played soccer before. So some of the sisters call me Soccer Girl now. Every night around 9:15 after we play a soccer game we get to watch the sunset while sitting on the field beneath the temple, that is one of my favorite times to relax and think about how happy I am to be a missionary. I honestly think it is one of the best decisions I could have made. It is so hard at times, but also so rewarding. I wish everyone could experience the joys of being a missionary.

Last week we had the most amazing devotional. Lowel M. Snow a former seventy spoke. I just loved his talk soo much. He talked a lot about being converted unto the Lord. I loved what he said about making the decision to choose Christ first always. He said “Its not a choice of once a day or once a week its a choice once in for all. You will choose Christ every time once you choose him once and for all.” He challenged us with 5 different actions of faith on being converted to Christ: 1. Choose Him always 2. Take his Spirit for your guide 3. Become a true disciple of Christ 4. Help him do his work and exercise his power 5. Seek to have his spirit in your countenance. It was just the most amazing talk and I wish everyone could hear it. I challenge everyone to do those 5 points in your own life.

Well, I could tell you so much more but I don’t want you to feel like you are reading a novel. I love you all and love hearing from you. Keep me in your prayers. I will end with telling you that I know this church is true with all my heart. I know Jesus Christ lives and that He is our Redeemer and Savior. And we can all be forgiven and strengthened through His atonement. I know we have a Father in Heaven who loves us and knows each one of us personally. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and restored the Church back to the earth in these latter days. I know we have a living prophet on the earth today, Thomas S. Monson. In the name of Jesus Christ Amen.

I would translate it into french if I had more time but I have to go. We get to go clean the temple today for P-day.

I love you!!!

Love, Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

