Week 5 in the MTC!

image

Just having fun:)

Just having fun:)

Bonjour!! J’ai trés hâte!

Well, it is official I am going to Canada!  We got our flight plans last Saturday.   I leave August 5th at 7:45 in the morning and arrive in Montreal around 4:00 pm.   We have one layover in Detroit and then off to Montreal!!  We spend our first night in the mission home.  There are 19 of us all flying together and leaving for Montreal French speaking at the same time. So that should be interesting the first night in the mission home.  The depressing thing about leaving for Montreal is we have to be at the travel office at 3:30 in the morning!:/ Hopefully my excitement can defeat my lack of sleep that day.  I had practice this morning waking early.  One of the girls in my zone needed a temporary companion when she went to the travel office this morning.   I got up at 4:00 in the morning to walk her down to the office. Four of my favorite sisters left in my zone this week.  They were supposed to go to New Caledonia, but their visas didn’t get here on time so they were reassigned yesterday.   They only had one night to pack to leave for Boston or Atlanta.  I sure am going to miss them.  This week has been a lot better than last week. Everyone in my district is over their sickness and things are back in order. Except for the fact we are all getting pretty nervous/excited to leave for the field.

Last Wednesday we had the opportunity to teach members and recent converts over Skype who live in Montreal and France. It was so exciting to be speaking french to people who actually live in french speaking countries. It was a little difficult to understand them due to a bad connection, but it was crazy to see how you could still feel the spirit as you taught over Skype. I was so happy to see how much I could understand and communicate back to them!

The 24th of July was pretty boring at the MTC. The morning started off with service. Our service assignment was to clean the girls showers…which is even grosser than cleaning toilets in my opinion. SO MUCH HAIR. Dad if you think the hair I leave in the shower is bad you haven’t seen anything. Try cleaning hair balls from the girl’s showers at the MTC where 50 girls shower once a day. The day got a lot better at night when we went outside for GYM. We got to play soccer, enjoy the most beautiful sunset, and then watch the fireworks being shot off in the valley. It was a perfect night:)

This last Saturday my district did an english fast, where we could only speak french all day. It was soooo hard!! I am suddenly realizing how most of the french I know is just how to teach gospel principles, but not really any everyday conversations. Towards the end of the day I felt like my head was going to explode. I was trying to explain to my companion about something we need to start teaching to one of our investigators. I couldn’t find the words to say it. Then all of sudden I exploded and let out a really loud scream in the staircase…haha! It was a lot louder than I was expecting. The three other sisters in my zone burst out laughing. Then all the people started sticking their heads out of the classrooms to see what was going on. The elders in my district who were upstairs in the computer lab said they heard me scream. It was pretty funny. I love french so much. I think it is the most beautiful language, but sometimes I feel like my head is exploding with french vocabulary and grammar.   We tried to make the day a little fun by translating some of our favorite pop songs into french. So far we have translated Fancy by Iggy and Drop it Like it’s Hot by Snoop Dog. Here is a little sample: in english the lyrics are, “I’m so fancy, you already know” in french it is, “Je suis huppé, tu ne comprend pas.” This is probably not the best way to be spending our time, but sometimes you have to take a break!

This last week has also been really exciting teaching our investigators! Me and my companion have grown so close in the last week and our lessons only get better and better. We have committed three of our investigators to baptism, it is just so exciting…even if it isn’t real life…haha! I have really grown to love teaching. I love the spirit that I feel when I teach. I can just feel so much love for my investigators and I truly want to help them. I can’t wait to actually start teaching lessons to real investigators! My testimony has really grown on following promptings that the spirit gives you especially as I teach. Me and my companion will prepare the most amazing lesson that we spend a lot of time preparing. Then we drop half of it or sometimes all of it and just follow what the spirit is telling us to teach. I pray to have the spirit with me always and to be able to feel and then follow the spirit to help me know the needs of my investigators.

This last Sunday Sheri Dew came and spoke to us in Relief Society. She gave the most amazing talk. She talked about the priesthood and the role women play in the priesthood. It was soo good and I wish all women could hear the talk she gave. She also talked a lot about how as missionary’s we can not rely alone on our understanding and testimony. If we rely on our own skill and talent we can’t do it. We need the power of Heaven and the power of our Savior. As missionaries that are set apart we are given this special power to work under priesthood authority.

Well I am not going to lie I can already tell this last week in the MTC is going to be really hard. I can’t even imagine saying goodbye to my district (my 2nd family) and teachers. They have helped me so much this first month of my mission and have strengthened me everyday. My teachers are amazing. I have learned so much from them and how the kind of missionary I want to be. My teacher, Soeur Mckay is also close to being engaged. We technically are not supposed to tell anyone, but I’m sure I can trust you guys considering you don’t even know her. We got to meet her soon to be fiancee and hear their cute love story. My two teachers Soeur Mckay and Fere Symbrosky have become some of my best friends. They refer to us as not only their students, but friends. We already are making plans to hangout after the mission. They tell us everyday that we are the best district they have ever taught. Hopefully they don’t say that to everyone. Gosh I love them and they have inspired me so much!!

I am also really sad I won’t be there for Caleb and Cali’s wedding this next week. I hope everything goes well and I am soo excited for them!!! I hope the family has fun together. Just think of me when you see me standing there made out of cardboard at the wedding…haha! I love you all and hope you know you are all in my thoughts and prayers especially this next week.
Je Vous Aime!!!

Love, Soeur  Hunt

Leave a Reply

