Fall is Coming Quickly

Our amazing district!!:) I had to say goodbye to a lot of them because it was their last transfer.

Our amazing district!!:) I had to say goodbye to a lot of them because it was their last transfer.


Went out with a family in our ward to celebrate Soeur Hinkson's birthday. Cosmos Pizzeria...best pizza I have ever had:)

Went out with a family in our ward to celebrate Soeur Hinkson’s birthday. Cosmos Pizzeria…best pizza I have ever had:)

Bonjour family and friends!!:)

I finished my first transfer out in the field!! Only 6 more weeks left of training. This might be a shocker, but I stayed in the same area…haha!! I guess the area I am serving in right now is known for the missionaries staying there for a really long time. My companion has been here for 5 transfers now. So who knows I might be here for a while which is totally okay with me because I love it here!! Also, we are getting Elders put back into our area. Our area isnt as big now. The Elders will be taking on half of the ward. This sadly means handing off some of our amazing investigators like Geraldine. Who, by the way said she will look for a date that she wants to be baptized on…way better than a no! The change saddens me, but I know it is for the best. We will now have more time to focus on individual investigators rather than trying to cover a huge area all by ourselves.

It has been a little bit of a shock to me to see how fast the cold is coming. It has really cooled off this last week and it is only the beginning! I am a little scared for the winter. I am already wearing my coat and tights. One day this week me and Soeur Hinkson were out trying to get in contact with old potentials. It just started down pouring on us. When I say down pour I mean it really just comes out of nowhere and in huge rain drops. I got drenched. I got in the car wet and cold and was just counting my blessings that we had a warm car to get into.

Here is a funny tidbit about Montreal. They put maple syrup in and on everything. I have even had lemonade sweetened with maple syrup. Often when I eat at a member’s house I think, “wow this tastes really good.” I ask them how they cook it and without a doubt everytime they say,”maple syrup.” It is also the best maple syrup I have ever tasted in my life. Wow, I sound like such a Canadian!

I have really seen so many amazing miracles this last week. The week started off really busy with a lot of lessons and then slowly burned off. I was getting a little discouraged towards the end of the week. There were not many lessons and the cold was getting to me. Then on Sunday it all paid off. I got to church that day and saw our investigator Daniel standing there with the biggest smile. He came up to me and could not hide his joy. He told me he was so excited to tell me that he started reading from the beginning of the Book of Mormon and he loves it!! He said he read it for 1 hour straight that morning. It is amazing to see the difference the gospel has made in his life. When we first started teaching him he always looked sad and worried. My goal was to get him to start smiling. This last Sunday I have never seen him smile more. We are almost done teaching him. He is still planning for his baptism on Sept. 27th:) We pretty much see him everyday. Daily contact really is important in helping your investigators.

Also, this week our investigator Carol made it to church. We went to her house that morning just to make sure she would make it. We got there and she wasn’t planning on going, but we pretty much just told her we already had a ride for her and we wanted her to be there. We brought her a few food items we had just sitting in our cupboards too. We know she doesn’t have much. She just started crying when she saw the food. She said she didn’t have money for food this week. We had a little lesson with her and then got her out the door for church. She really was very touched at church and even received a priesthood blessing. She told us she really felt the spirit. It was so great to see how happy she was at church. She has a lot of hard trials to face in life with money, family, and the absence of the spirit in her life. We are just taking one step at a time with her.

I can really see the work moving foward in this area. The ward members are really getting involved and helping us. We have a goal of getting one member present for a lesson each day. Just setting the goal has made a huge difference as we see our efforts paying off. The ward has helped our investigators feel welcomed and loved.

Each day I am learning something new. I am learning how important this work really is and how each us has a responsibility to share the gospel. We are all children of God and we all need the Savior in our life. We need to see everyone around us as our brothers and sisters and be willing to love and serve everybody no matter what the circumstances may be. I love this gospel and I love my Savior. I know He lives and is just waiting with open arms for all His children to come unto Him.

I hope you all have a wonderful week! I love you!!!

Love, Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

