A Week of Change :)

Soeur Blanc  and I with  Pres. and Sister Patrick

Soeur Blanc and I with Pres. and Sister Patrick

Bonjour!:)

This week has been so great. I received my new companion, Soeur Blanc. She is amazing and I love her. She is from Florida, but was born in Haiti. I have never met so many Haitian people in my life until coming here. Now my companion is Haitian! I feel so blessed to train her, she has the most powerful testimony. She has only been a member of the church for 16 months. In fact, the missionary that baptized her in Florida is still serving his mission. Missionary work is truly amazing! Soeur Blanc and I have only been together for 5 days, but I can tell we will work great together! Soeur Blanc is a great cook. She is going to teach me to make Haitian food:) She didn’t speak french before her mission, but she is picking it up really fast because creole is really similar to french.

I was really scared to be a trainer at first especially thinking about the language, but the Lord truly blesses us and helps us. My french is still not the best. I have so much to learn and improve on, but I can feel the Lord helping me. I have surprised myself that I can speak and understand more than I thought as I take the lead in lessons and with other things too. Soeur Blanc and I speak about the same level of french right now. So we help each other out. It is definitely a new experience to be training and a little overwhelming at times, but I love it!!:)

We continue to teach our two families. The big African family and the little family from Columbia. I love teaching them and it really is amazing to see them pray and then read in the Book of Mormon. The african children say some of the most beautiful prayers I have ever heard. I asked Valentine this week how she feels when they pray as a family. She looked at me and gave me the most sincere response. She said, “I feel the love of the Savior when we pray.” This family is taught almost everyday. We teach them twice a week and then the elders in our ward teach them twice a week. I am excited to see where things go with the family.

We have also had a really cool experience with Lou, our neighbor who lives above us. She has become the missionary mother the past few years with all the missionaries coming and going from our apartment. She bakes for us and literally gave us a new couch, towels, and dishes. She is always worrying about us. Missionaries usually do service and have prayer with her. She has been going through a really hard time and needs more with the loss of her mom, her sister, and now losing her job. Soeur Blanc and I suggested that she could have the elders give her a blessing of comfort. She accepted this. It was heart warming to see 6 energetic missionaries all in this one apartment sharing their testimonies. Afterwards, she received a priesthood blessing. There was a special spirit present.

Yesterday, Soeur Blanc and I presented her with a Book of Mormon. She accepted to read and look at it. This is incredible because the missionaries have been trying to present her with a Book of Mormon for years. She would always say “no”. I really am excited to see how things go with her. I love her and I know she can have so much happiness in her life.

I wish I had more time to write about other experiences from this last week. There is not enough time and then again I don’t want to bore you…ha! I love you all and hope you have a fantastic week!!:)
Je vous Aime!

Avec amour,
Soeur Hunt

P.S. It is already freezing here and this is only the beginning. I think I am going to die! No snow yet, but we did get the winter tires put on our car this last week.

Leave a Reply

