First snow fall!!

Our big african family. Taken before Soeur Hinkson left.

Our big african family. Taken before Soeur Hinkson left.


All of my companions in one picture. What is funny is that Soeur Hinkson is now companions with my MTC companion, Soeur Davis.

All of my companions in one picture. What is funny is that Soeur Hinkson is now companions with my MTC companion, Soeur Davis.


Me and Soeur Blanc

Me and Soeur Blanc


Bonjour!:)

Well, this week has been great. It finally started snowing which I was super excited about! I think the snow is so pretty. It isn’t really sticking to the ground yet, but it is still fun! I woke up yesterday, saw the snow and started jumping for joy. I don’t think my companion felt the same way as me. She just kept saying, “oh no, oh no.”

This week has been a little slow, but was still full of miracles. We had the most amazing lessons with our three most progressing investigators which are Lucy, Fernando, and Paula. Teaching them makes me want to learn chinese and spanish so I can talk to them in their native language, but I should probably focus on my french first. We also continue to work and serve the big african family. The ward has been a huge help with the family. The dad has been really sick lately and has been going to the hospital. We haven’t been able to see the family too much this week. We continue to serve them and pray for them. Our goal for this next week is to get all of our investigators to church! It is so hard to get them to church sometimes, but I need to have patience and remember everyone has their own agency.

This past week Soeur Blanc and I have been doing a lot of contacting going door to door. With the cold everyone stays inside, so it is hard to do street contacts. Door to door is hard because everyone opens their doors, feels how cold it is and then they want to hurry and close it. That is okay, we just need be more creative in our contacting. We have thought about going to the mall this week to do contacting.

We have had a lot of fun teaching our english class. We have been teaching the class twice a week and we get about 6 people to come each night. I have become pretty good friends with some of the regulars. One guy brings me candy every week because he knows I have a soft spot for sugar. We started reading the gospel principles book to help them read english. I think that is pretty cool because all of our students are non members. We are hoping it will help them become curious about the church.

Soeur Blanc and I were able to go downtown last night. The three stakes around Montreal are getting together do a big Christmas carol flashmob. We will be performing it in downtown Montreal sometime in December. We were pretty excited because a lot of people showed up. They are planning on filming it and are hoping it will bring some positive publicity for the church. Our stake has really been stressing the importance of using the internet for missionary work. They came up with this idea so members would be able to post the video during the holidays. It is exciting to see the stake trying new ways of missionary work.

Things are also going good with my new companion. She is teaching me to make yummy Haitian food and to speak Creole. I love her lots.

I want to leave you with my testimony. I know the church is true. We are so blessed to have this knowledge and testimony of the gospel of Jesus Christ in our lives. We should continue each day praying for the spirit to be with us to find ways to share it with those around us. I challenge you to look for little ways you can share your testimony and love for the Savior, especially around this holiday season.
I love you all!
Have fun with your preparations for Thanksgiving day.

Love,

Soeur Hunt

P.S. My P-day will be on Tuesday next week.

Leave a Reply

