Attitude of Gratitude

The sisters in my district. I love them so much! :)

The sisters in my district. I love them so much! πŸ™‚


Bonjour tous le monde! πŸ™‚

I can’t believe it is already Thanksgiving. This month went by so fast! It was such a great month that was full of a lot of change, but so wonderful. I just feel like I have so much to be grateful for. This last week Soeur Blanc and I saw so many miracles in the Lord’s work.

This last weekend when we taught our english class we ended with a Mormon Message about Thanksgiving. We had everyone go around and tell us what they are thankful for. I loved hearing all their responses. These non-members all had such sweet and simple responses: I am thankful for my beautiful children, my health, God’s creations, and having a happy marriage. We have so much to be thankful for. As we think about the knowledge we have of this restored gospel and think of all the blessings the church and the knowledge of our Savior Jesus Christ has brought into our lives. We can’t even start to name all the blessings and things we have to be grateful for.

Well, I want to share a really cool experience that happened this last week. I was driving down the street with Soeur Blanc after contacting some people in a neighborhood. We weren’t too successful so we decided to go to another neighborhood to contact. We got in the car and started driving when I saw a lady standing on the corner. I had the strongest feeling to stop the car, pull over, get out and go talk to her. So I did just that. I probably looked like a crazy lady flipping the car around, but we got out to talk to her for a little bit. I asked her if we could come teach her family. She immediately said, “yes!” Then her brother came out to talk to us and said he wanted us to come back. Soeur Blanc and I were so excited. We taught her and her brother last night about Jesus Christ, how the gospel of Christ is for the family and the Book of Mormon. The first lesson went amazing. She is from the Congo and has only been in Canada for 18 weeks. She is here with her three little girls and her brother. Her little girls don’t speak french too well. They speak english and their african language. We are going to start teaching them french πŸ™‚ We taught them and got to know them last night. I already feel something special with Grace and her brother George. They said we are welcome to come visit them every night around 7:00.

During the lesson I could tell something was bothering Grace, but she wouldn’t open up. As we were leaving she followed us out to our car and just started crying. She told us how it is really hard to live in a new country with three little girls and without her husband who just passed away. My heart was so touched.

Soeur Blanc and I expressed our love for her and the love that God has for her. We assured her that her Heavenly Father loves her and we are here to help her. Her courage and strength inspires me. When we walked into their home all they had was a table with four chairs around it and a little tv on a stand. They don’t even have a couch. All I could think is, wow we don’t know how blessed we are sometimes. I hope we can help this family not only as we get the ward involved to help, but as we share the truth and knowledge they are looking for through the gospel of Jesus Christ.

We also had the most amazing zone conference yesterday. I learned so much and felt the spirit so strong there. This really is the time to hasten the Lord’s work. I feel honored to be able to serve a mission at a time like this!

Also, this last week we were able to celebrate Redia’s 17th birthday. We went to their home and Geraldine of course prepared some yummy african food. I got to talk to Redia more about how she wants to serve a mission. I am so excited for this family. I see so much potential for them, it’s amazing. Geraldine and Redia are still being taught and coming to church each week. We keep praying that her husband will give them permission soon. We sent a referral to the missionaries in Africa, but we haven’t heard back from that. So we gave her husband the address of the church there. We are waiting to see if he went this last weekend. We continue to pray and fast for them.

Sorry that I don’t have more time to write. There are so many other things that happened this last week. Please know that all is going great here and I love and miss you all. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving week!!

Avec amour toujour,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

