Bonne Lundi!

My first hockey shirt!

My first hockey shirt!

My cute companion is always so kind by scraping the car for us.

My cute companion is always so kind by scraping the car for us.

Salut ma famille et mes amis!!

I hope everyone is doing good and you all had une belle week! This last week in Canada has just been extremely cold for me!! I don’t think I will ever get used to this coldness. We will be outside walking and my face just hurts. It is so cold. I think I need to invest in a ski mask or something. We were doing some door contacting this last weekend and we were literally running from one apartment building to the next trying to get out of the cold weather as soon as possible. Soeur Leon and I try to stay positive and keep going. I know the Lord is truly keeping us warm­.

This last week in Sherbrooke has been a 100 times better than the last. Less getting lost, meeting more people, and seeing miracles come about. Also, I just love my new companion. She really is the best. She is an answer to so many of my prayers. I could not ask for a better companion/best friend. She has been so patient with me.

We have finally been able to see some of our amis (investigators) this week, which are Louise, Mohammad, and Bernadetth. Yes, again, half of our amis are African, but I am okay with that because I just love Africans. It was just great to be able to teach our amis and help them feel the spirit and to get to know them. My love for them is already starting to grow.

Here is a funny story from this week. My companion and I have been giving a lot of service to our amie, Louise. She just moved into a new apartment this last week that we were helping her set up. She is currently struggling with cancer and needs lots of help. We were helping her put in a new light over her dinning room table, well mostly my companion was. I was just playing with the dog because I don’t know much about electricity. My companion was doing the wiring for it. We thought we had it figured out so we turned on the power. All of a sudden a big fire comes out of the side of the wall where the heating system is. Yeah, so we pretty much set her new place on fire. We felt extremely bad, but she was understanding and wasn’t upset…hopefully. We are planning on making her cookies today in hopes she will still let us come back. It wasn’t really funny and my companion felt so bad, but for some reason after we left I just couldn’t stop laughing.

We have also been able to get to know a lot of ward members better this week. They truly are so kind and welcoming and so excited to have sisters again. I love it. We were able to drive out to another part of our area called Magog, yesterday. It is this cute little town out of Sherbrooke where we have a lot of members. This area is definitely prettier than my last.

A cool experience we had this last week was when Soeur Leon and I went to visit one of our amis, Mohammad. He is a college student and he lives in college housing. After we left his house we had the feeling that we needed to knock the whole neighborhood. It was late so we decided we would come back the next day, which of course was a lot colder. We went back and started knocking. We had so many good contacts with people and we set up times to come back and teach them. It was a little interesting contacting college students because we had so many different reactions from them. It was great because we were truly led by the spirit that night as we talked to everyone. We knew that was where we were supposed to be. This experience confirmed to me that this is the Lord’s work and we are His servants and He will help guide us, always.

I am so grateful for this gospel and all the blessings it has brought into my life. It is a blessing to have the knowledge that I am here on earth with a purpose. We have the chance to progress and change each day through our Savior, Jesus Christ. I know that our Heavenly Father is aware of each one us because we are His children and He loves us. He cares for each one of us individually. He doesn’t see us in terms of nationality or education. He sees us as a child of God destined to become like Him one day. He loves us infinitely, eternally, and unconditionally. I feel so blessed to be able to share this love with everyone each day and pray to be filled with His love so I can serve as my Savior, Jesus Christ would. I love you all so much and I truly mean that! I wish you all the best week.
Bonne Semaine!
Avec amour, Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

