Endings and New and Exciting Beginnings!

Chapel in Sherbrooke

Chapel in Sherbrooke

Last time with the beautiful Young Women.

Last time with the beautiful Young Women.

My favorite little girls in the ward. The littlest one calls me, "nanny" and follows me everywhere.

My favorite little girls in the ward. The littlest one calls me, “nanny” and follows me everywhere.

I just love this family.

I just love this family.

The cute Barrios family!

The cute Barrios family!

Family Home Evening with Valli and the Barrios family.

Family Home Evening with Valli and the Barrios family.

Bonjour tout le monde!!

Oh, wow is this week ever crazy fun, full of miracles and exciting news. So I guess I will start with the most exciting news. We received transfer calls this last weekend and I found out I am leaving Sherbrooke:( I always get moved just when I get too attached to one place. I am going to downtown Montreal! I will be living right in the middle of the big city. I will be serving in the Young Single Adult ward which is French-speaking!! I have also been called to be a Sister Training Leader along with my new companion, Sister Jeter. Sister Jeter and I came in at the start of our missions together. This will be such a big new change for me, but I am so super excited. I will be in the church building that is connected to the Mission Office in downtown Montreal. Now I will get my mail on time…just one bonus!  Transfers are tomorrow instead of Wednesday so these last couple of days have been crazy busy. I have been preparing to leave and saying goodbye to everyone. I was super shocked when we got our calls.  I thought I would be in Sherbrooke for a little while longer.

I have grown to love the people of Sherbrooke so much. It breaks my heart every time I say goodbye to one of our amazing investigators or amazing members that I have grown to love like family. Last night we had dinner with a family that is so close to my heart. It was so hard to say goodbye and this only continues as we visit more people. I love Sherbrooke and I see so much potential in all the people here whether it be our investigators or the awesome member missionaries. I know Sherbrooke will only continue to see many more blessings and miracles. This ward is a powerhouse. I know it really isn’t ever goodbye with these people!

One really amazing thing we have been doing this past week is helping our investigator, Louise, prepare for her baptism this coming Saturday. Yes, I am so very sad to be missing her baptism, but His work is not about me.  I am super excited for her decision and the changes she is making in her life. She has such an inspiring and amazing story and I can’t wait to see how she continues to grow and progress in this gospel. She will bless so many people. It will be super hard to say goodbye to her today.

I am so thankful for the time I have had to serve in Sherbrooke with Soeur Leon. We have experienced and grown so much together. At the beginning of this transfer Soeur Leon and I set goals of what we wanted to see happen here in Sherbrooke. Almost every one of our goals were met…probably just not the one about eating healthy and working out. We were able to find a family to teach, actually 2! We have been preparing two people for baptism! We have become best friends through getting lost in our Lord’s work.

Sister Leon and I have experienced a lot of hard challenges when we arrived here. Together we learned to work through them by putting complete trust in our Savior. We learned so much about faith.  We learned that we can not do this on our own, but only through following the spirit and finding strength through Jesus Christ. It wasn’t easy, but looking back it was so worth it. We found and fell in love with so many amazing children of God. I just love my mission and I never want it to end. This truly is the best work and the Lord’s work. My testimony has grown in ways I never thought possible. I am sooo very sad to leave this area, but I am so excited for the new adventures I will find while serving in Montreal. I have the greatest testimony that you are called where the Lord needs you to be at this specific time. This knowledge can apply to anyone wherever you may be in life.

Well, I just want to end with one of my favorite scriptures that I hold close to my heart. It describes these last two transfers with Sister Leon, “I do not boast in my own strength, nor in my own wisdom; but behold, my joy is full, yea, my heart is brim with joy, and I will rejoice in my God. Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.“Alma 26:11-12. I love you all so much and I hope you have a beautiful week!

Avec amour,
Soeur Hunt
Leave a Reply

