J’aime Montreal

French Cafe

French Cafe

Sandwich Labneh and a pastrie...the best!

Sandwich Labneh and a blueberry pastry…the best!

IMG_0490

My companion, Sister Jeter

My companion, Sister Jeter

At a metro station on splits.

At a metro station on splits.

The day we did a trio with Sister Arriga just before she went home.

The day we did a trio with Sister Arriga just before she went home.

My babies:) Sister Blanc and Sister Leon

My babies:) Sister Blanc and Sister Leon

Bonjour!:)

Hello, my beautiful friends and family:)  I hope you all had a great week. This last week for me has been crazy, fun, hard, and exciting. I love being in Montreal and to experience living in the city. This last week has been pretty rainy and just the perfect spring weather. So far there are no traces of winter returning.  I am starting to feel more comfortable with my companion, area, and ward.

This last week we started all the splits with the sisters. It is crazy how many splits we do. Sometimes I feel like I have 20 companions.  It is so fun working with all the girls and seeing what amazing missionaries they are. This last week I was able to spend the day working with a sister in Laval, a city which is located off the island. It was so crazy because all the lessons we had were in Spanish. I just spoke French and tried to say a few phrases in Spanish. The investigators would just laugh at me when I attempted to speak in Spanish. It was a fun day, but I was fed way too much Mexican food. I am kind of glad I don’t have to ever worry about serving in a Spanish ward.

I was also able to do a split with another sister in our area. I was super scared taking over for the day without Sister Jeter. We worked the metros and everything, but it all went great:) I looked like a little newbie with my little metro map that I would keep pulling out every few seconds to make sure we didn’t miss any of our stops.

We spend much of our day working at the Laurier building. This is the church building and the mission office on rue Gilford. We do most of our lessons, meetings, church, FHE, and Institute there each week. The Laurier building is literally my second home. I am loving the work here with the Young Single Adults. They are all so fun and nice. I love the sisters in Relief Society. It is different being in a Young Single Adult ward, but it brings back so many memories from BYU.  I quite often hear about all the dating drama in the ward…haha!

I was able to meet more of our amazing investigators that we are teaching. I instantly fell in love with them. They are all so nice. We are mostly working with three investigators right now. They are Maude, Victor and Alberto. They all have so much potential and I am so excited to continue teaching them.

I also feel so blessed to be working with my companion, Sister Jeter. She is such an amazing companion and she is just what I needed. She is from Texas and she went to BYU before coming on her mission. She is crazy active and she loves to run. She is also probably one of the best examples of obedience and diligence that I have ever seen on my mission. I feel so thankful to be working with her. We have so much fun exploring the city together. We haven’t been able to go to any of the super touristy sights yet because it has been super rainy on our P-days.  Next week we are planning to go to Old Montreal. Last week we went shopping and ate at the cutest French cafe, Olives Et Cafe Noir. Today we are going to the Chinese markets and the St. Joseph Cathedral.

I think by far my favorite thing about Montreal is taking the metro everywhere and walking around the city. It gets pretty scary to do contacting on the metro sometimes, but I love it at the same time. Today I talked to a lady that is from Korea and Russia. Everyone is super nice and they always get excited when you say you are from the USA.

Also, another wonderful thing from this last week was that I was able to see Martin from Lemonyne:) He came down to Institute on Friday night. It was so great to talk to him and hear how is was doing. He is doing sooo amazing!! He just received his temple recommend this last week. In two more weeks he is receiving the Melchizedek Priesthood. I am just so extremely happy for him. I couldn’t stop smiling the whole night after I was done talking to him.

I would like to leave you with a spiritual thought.  I want to leave you with my testimony of the Book of Mormon. Sorry, I know I bear my testimony a lot on this wonderful book, but I can’t even express to you how much my testimony of the Book of Mormon has grown.  During this transfer our whole mission is reading the Book of Mormon in 6 weeks. This is extremely hard for me, but such a blessing. I look forward to the time every morning I can open it and let the spirit fill me up. I love this quote from a talk at General Conference by Elder Kevin W. Pearson.

“Life’s journey is challenging. It’s easy to be distracted, wander off the path, and get lost. Tribulation is an inevitable and indispensable part of our eternal progression. When adversity comes, don’t let something you don’t fully understand unravel everything you do know. Be patient, cling to truth; understanding will come. Trials are like great mists of darkness that can blind our eyes and harden our hearts. Unless we are “continually holding fast” to the word of God and living it, we will become spiritually blinded rather than spiritually minded. Search the Book of Mormon and the words of the living prophets every day, every day, every day! It’s the key to spiritual survival and avoiding deception. Without it, we are spiritually lost.”

I love the Book of Mormon.  I know we can find the guidance and strength that we need each day by opening it and studying its teachings and then applying them into our lives. By reading it we can find greater happiness, more than we ever imagined. So read it… Everyday 🙂

Well, I love you all and I hope you have a great week.

Love Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

