A Breath of Fresh Air, Broken Eggs and Spiritual Promptings

Terrebonne

Terrebonne

July 27, 2015

Bonjour!!

Well, I hope you all had a great week. It has been a pretty busy week here in Montreal. It was full of traveling and exchanges with the sisters. This last week I was able to go on exchanges in Saint-Jerome and Terrebonne. They are both towns off the island. They were both soo pretty!! They had little town squares and greens fields. I loved getting out of the big city for a few days. It was like a breath of fresh air!

One of my exchanges was especially grand because I was reunited with Sister Hinkson, my mom/trainer in the mission field. She goes home in three weeks and I was able to spend one last day with her.  It was such a great day and I loved being with her. I have always learned so much from her. She is such a great example for me and we always have fun together. We reminisced about our days serving in Lemoyne together. It was exciting to see the changes we have both made throughout our missions. It was cool to see how much both of us have grown.

The other exchange I went on was to Terrebonne. I was able to visit some of the members there. One of the less active families that we visited lived 40 minutes north of Terrebonne.  It is the furthest north I have been on my mission. It was so pretty and the family was so nice. They had a huge garden and tons of animals. They gave me lots of fresh raspberries and blueberries to eat. I played with some of their kittens and then they gave me an egg from their chickens to take home. The only sad thing is I accidentally cracked the egg in the car on the way back to Montreal that night. It was really gross and I made the sister’s car smell like eggs! I felt kind of bad about that.

There was one really cool miracle that happened this last week.  I don’t know if you remember Valli from Sherbrooke. He was from India.  Sister Leon and I taught him towards the end of my last transfer there.  Anyways, lately I had a really strong feeling that I needed to write him a note or somehow get in contact with him. To keep mission rules, the only thing I could do was write a note and have the Sherbrooke elders deliver it for me.  After I wrote the note and put in the mailbox, I found out the elders had to drop Valli and stop seeing him because he wasn’t progressing. It made me so sad because I have been praying for him a lot! He goes back to India in September.  A few weeks passed and the elders got a message from Valli saying he wanted to meet with them again. Apparently, he got my note and took it like an answer from God. He said it felt like His Heavenly Father was directly talking to him. The elders went and taught him that night. They said the spirit was so strong. They even fixed a baptismal date for him on August 29th.  It was such a cool experience to see how the Lord always answers our prayers and to see the blessings that come when following the promptings of the spirit. I am praying for Valli that he will keep progressing and following the example of Jesus Christ.

Also, another really cool experience we had this last week was in our YSA ward. In our mission we have started working with potential Melchizedek priesthood holders. We are helping them prepare to receive the priesthood at our next stake conference in November. There is one returning, less active we have been working with a lot. Sister Jeter and I have been teaching him lessons every week and then taking him out teaching with us. Well, he was given a calling this last week to be a ward missionary!! We not only will be working with him in his new calling, but we get to keep helping him prepare for the Melchizekdek priesthood. We are so happy for him and the changes he is making. It has been really cool to help the men in our ward work on their goal for the priesthood come November. I really love working here in Laurier with the members. We are getting lots of members to have lessons with us. Even when sometimes our  investigators cancel or do not show up, we really feel in some ways we were supposed to be teaching that member. It has brought us a lot closer to some of our ward members.

This last week, we also had a really great mission leadership council. I love coming together with all the leaders in the mission to talk and discuss. It is heart warming when we receive revelation for our mission as a council and work together to know how to help our missionaries and the Lord’s work here in Montreal.

Well, it has been a great week. I have felt my testimony of the Savior, my Redeemer, Jesus Christ grow so much. He is always there for us and He gives us the strength we need daily. He is full of perfect love that sometimes is so hard to comprehend. He knows us personally and He knows how we feel through the good and the hard times. We can always turn to Him and rely on Him. I will leave you all with a quote that I have read a lot this last week. It was sent to me from my dad, “Amidst our flaws, failures and even our lapses into sin and sinfulness this relationship can endure unbroken and unshaken…it increases when we recognize that he is holding on to us more surely than we, by covenant, are holding on to Him. The bond of perfectness is Christ’s pure love manifest in His spirit. It is a perfect bond. It is empowering. And it is strengthening.”

I love you all and I hope you have a great week!

Love,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

