Lose Yourself in Service

98e239e4698d2d8391391d3ecc8f322c

Eating some yummy french food with Sister Rawlings after exhanges.

Eating some yummy french food with Sister Rawlings after exhanges.

A cathedral Sister Rawlings and I saw while waiting for the bus in downtown Montreal.

A cathedral Sister Rawlings and I saw while waiting for the bus in downtown Montreal.

August 3, 2015

Hello family and friends!!

Well, it has been a hot week here in Montreal!! It is super hot and we are just trying to stay cool each day. Today started off a lot cooler though. Sister Jeter and I took a nice run this morning and then started our P-day with pan au chocolat (chocolate croissant thing). It was soooo good! The french bakeries here in Montreal are definitely my biggest temptation. 🙂 I guess it’s a good thing we go running!

Sister Jeter and I have had a lot of awesome experiences together… and apart on exchanges! I got to go up to another part of Quebec, called Mascouche, with Sister Carpentar at the beginning of the week. That was such a beautiful day full of the spirit and happiness. I had so many answers to my prayers that day. I love going on exchanges with the sisters in our zone. They are incredibly amazing and they always help me so much!  Things I seem to be struggling with almost always get answered on exchanges as I listen to the testimony of our sisters. I love them so much. We also went on exchanges with the sisters that came in from Laval.  I stayed here on the island with Sister Rawlings. It was a great day.

We had the opportunity to do some service this last week for one our awesome members, Rose Marie. We got to go help her move to a different apartment in the heat of the day! It was super hot, but we had some cool experiences with her. She helped us contact some people outside of her apartment building. I love contacting with members it’s so much better! After that we were just roasting, but we went and taught a lesson to one of our less actives who had no air conditioning in his apartment. 😦 I was dying in that lesson! Following that, we went and stopped by another one of our awesome members, Bianca, who has air conditioning. 🙂 She made us come in and eat dinner with her. She said it was way too hot to be working outside. I love our members.

It is weird that it has been a super busy week and a super hard week at the same time. I think it became harder during the weekend. Many of our lessons cancelled and then all of our ward members left this weekend for a YSA conference in Quebec City.  Sister Jeter and I struggled getting lessons this last week, but we still found lots of little miracles and blessings each day. I won’t forget one of the nights together from this last weekend. We were lost in the middle of Montreal and then got completely drenched by the rain on our way home! It was actually super funny; Sister Jeter and I couldn’t stop laughing. I am lucky to have Sister Jeter as my companion. No matter how hard the days get, she always helps me and keeps me going.

I have learned a lot this week about losing yourself in the work and to not focus on yourself all the time. In Mathew 16:25 it reads, “For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.” “I believe the Savior is telling us that unless we lose ourselves in service to others, there is little purpose to our own lives. Those who live only for themselves eventually shrivel up and figuratively lose their lives, while those who lose themselves in service to others grow and flourish—and in effect save their lives.”~Thomas S. Monson~ I have really seen this on my mission. The days I go out not thinking about what I want or what I think and just lose myself in the service of others and truly seek to do as our Savior would do are the best days as a missionary. You come home at the end of the day completely happy and exhausted knowing you gave yourself to God’s children and our Savior.

I love you all and I hope you have a great week. Find ways to help serve those around you this week!

á la prochaine! 🙂
Je vous aime,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

