Now is Part of Eternity

hello, autumn

hello, autumn

IMG_1045

A fancy private school in our neighborhood.

A fancy private school in our neighborhood.

IMG_1051

Watching the General Women's meeting

Watching the General Women’s meeting

Trying to grow my hair out.

Trying to grow my hair out.

Salut everyone:

It has been an awesome transfer here in Montreal with the YSA and yes, I will be spending another transfer here in the YSA!!!:) I am so happy. I felt impressed before transfer calls that I was still needed here in this area with Sister Neri. I am so excited. I love working in Montreal. We have had such a great transfer together and I just know the second one will be even better. Fall is here, which means I get to spend fall in the city. This is kind of a dream of mine. Today, has been a beautiful rainy autumn day.

Well, this last week was lots of fun. Sister Neri and I have been busy. Even with things not working out just how we planned, the Lord continued to bless us. Here are some examples. We were planning a lesson with an investigator who doesn’t show, but then we happen to meet a young adult at the bus stop who is totally interested in learning more. Our plans we had for a member cancels last-minute and then we find another who seems to be the perfect member for that lesson. We attend a baptism and the person getting baptized shows up an hour late because he was going around picking up his whole family to attend. They happen to be all non-members…nice! I have learned that we can’t freak out or get down when things just don’t go as planned because sometimes the Lord has a plan even better for us. He knows what He is doing and He knows that all will work out in the end.

Another example of this was when we thought we were not going to be able to watch the General Women’s meeting this last weekend. This is because the stake building we went to was only playing it in Spanish. The church playing it in English was super far away and we would not have made it on time. Sister Hatfield (a senior missionary…aka my mission mom) saved us and opened the office for us and another companionship of sisters so we could watch it together. It was so fun watching it with them. The meeting was amazing… watch it if you haven’t! I felt the spirit so strongly during the session.

This last week, we had a meeting for the leaders in our mission. We received instruction about the temple open house. It is going to be a packed-full 10 days with all the sister missionaries giving tours in the temple. All the sisters in our mission will be coming into Montreal for those 10 days. We will probably have another companionship staying in our apartment. Also, a general authority will be coming up to give us training for the tours at the end of October. All the members and missionaries are getting super excited for this! The members have started working on the performances for the Cultural Celebration. This last week we performed service by giving out invitations to people in the community to attend the temple open house. I can’t wait for the temple to open and I feel so blessed to be a part of this.

Here is a funny story from this last week. Sister Neri and I stopped at our local corner store late one night to get some drinks before we went home. We have made friends with the owner. First, he gives us our drinks and refuses to make us pay because we are sisters. Next thing I know we are sharing the gospel with everyone in the store. The owner, his friend, his brother, and a random stranger in the store who were all there that night. We even taught one of them a lesson the next day before he left to go home to Belgium.

Well, it’s been a great week!:) I will leave you with my favorite quote from the general women’s meeting! “Now is part of eternity.” My mom wrote this to me, “I love this quote because sometimes I don’t think what I am doing now is part of my eternal life. Sometimes I think that eternity is something we strive for, but this quote made me realize that we are experiencing our eternity right now too…so we need to enjoy it!” We need to enjoy the now! Every moment we have here is precious and we can find joy and happiness in every second of the day. “God didn’t design us to be sad. He created us to have Joy!!” ~Elder Uchtdorf~

I love you all and hope you have a great week.

Avec amour,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

