Conference Weekend! :)

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” ~L.M. Montgomery

“Every leaf speaks bliss to me, fluttering from the autumn tree.” ~Emily Bronte

Kicking down trees!

Kicking down trees!

The only ones on the metro as we were heading home one night.

The only ones on the metro as we were heading home one night.

Salut!

Well, wasn’t this last weekend just wonderful?? It felt like I participated in a huge spiritual feast by watching General Conference.  It was so amazing to be filled with the spirit as I listened to our prophet and apostles who lead our church! I keep marveling at how the spirit touched me again and again, confirming my testimony of this restored gospel and by receiving personal revelation on things that I can change and work on.

Sister Neri and I were able to listen to all four sessions of conference. On Saturday, we headed down to the LaSalle building to watch the first two sessions of conference. Our plans also entailed a lesson with an investigator in between the two sessions. Then Sunday morning started with a another lesson and a pass off lesson with the Spanish elders. We had a little time to kill before the first session so Sister Neri and I decided to go do a pass by a potential. She lives in the college housing at the University of Montreal. On our way, we got to contact lots of young adults. Also, on our way back we saw a college student unloading boxes out of his car all by himself. The spirit said, “You should ask him if he needs help.” So that is just what I did! He said, “Yes I would love some help.” The boxes were a little heavier than expected, but Sister Neri and I did our best to assist. He asked us, “Why we are here and what we do?” We were able to explain, share a brief testimony, and invite him to learn more. We got his number and he said that he was pretty curious. It felt so good to lend some service and share our testimonies. Then, noticing we were late, we took off for the metro to make it on time for the first session of conference at the church. We were running down the metro and found ourselves running with a few other members trying to make it to conference.

One thing that I love about conference weekend in Quebec is on Sunday everyone goes to the church building to watch conference together! I love it. It makes the spirit in the meeting ten times more powerful. Of course, in-between sessions everyone enjoys a potluck together. It is lots of fun. For the second session on Sunday, we were invited to a member’s house. It was with one of the counselors in the bishopric of the YSA. We got to watch conference in their home and afterwards we had a HUGE, yummy dinner together. The wife is from Haiti and she made lots of good Haitian food. It was such a wonderful weekend! 🙂  Also, right after conference, a guy we contacted on the bus a few weeks ago called us and asked if he could come to church. He said that it feels like something he needs to do. It was awesome. It just added to the spirit of the day.

This last week has just been amazing!! It has been one of the best weeks on my mission by far!! Sister Neri and I have been extremely blessed by finding LOTS of new people to teach and also by teaching many new people. We found 5 new investigators this last week that all speak French and are YSA age. We have had a first lesson with all of them! It was such a huge miracle for us. We have been praying to find new people to teach and to prepare for baptism. We have been talking to everyone. Sister Neri helps me so much with this. She is like that little voice or spirit behind me. Sometimes we will be walking down the street or in the metro and she will just lean over and say, “We are going to talk to this person.” or “You should contact that person.” I love her!

We have found some amazing people who are super ready to learn and who are so open to our message. Tonight we will have a lesson with two of them before FHE starts. We are praying to invite them all to be baptized this next lesson…so wish us luck!  Also, our investigator, Youcef, is doing amazing. He enjoyed watching all the sessions of conference and he really felt the spirit. This last week has just been great!! Sister Neri and I saw so many miracles. I wish that I had time to write them all. General Conference was like the icing on the cake of this great week.

I feel so blessed to be here serving the people of Montreal, especially here in the YSA. I  have such a love for the young adults. I remember how I avoided the young adults because they kind of scared me… now I just want to talk to all the young adults. I get so excited when I get to contact them…ha!  I know this is where I am supposed to be. I love serving the Lord all day, everyday.

I don’t have too much more time, so I will leave you with some quotes from conference that I loved:

“The goal is exaltation and discipleship is the journey… focus on the simplicity that is in Christ and let His grace carry us.” ~Dieter F Utchdorf~

“Our direction is ever more important than our speed.” ~Larry R. Lawrence~ I just loved his talk and especially the invitation he gave us all. He invited us to kneel down and pray that night and to ask God, “What is keeping me from progressing?” So, if you haven’t done this yet…do it!

Then, from the dear words of our prophet:
Radiate the light of Christ… We will be different. We will stand out!” ~President Thomas S. Monson~

I love you all and I wish you a beautiful week!!

Avec amour,

Soeur Hunt

Leave a Reply

