My Final Letter!!

 

DSCN4626

Bonjour famille et les amis:

Well, where do I even begin this letter. Eighteen months. One and half years. Thirteen transfers. All gone in a blink of an eye. Haitians, Africans, Algerians, Asians, Peruvians, and yes, all the great Canadians. Being surrounded by diverse cultures constantly. Welcome to Quebec! Weeks feel like days. Days feel like weeks. Eighteen months feels like a dream. Learning a new language. French study. Gift of tongues. Feeling weird saying prayers in English. Not knowing what language anyone speaks; bonjour…hello…hola…sorry, I don’t speak your language. Feeling green as a lime your first 12 weeks in the field. Coming home completely exhausted. Head hits the pillow, out in a second. Stress. Tears. Laughter. Frustration. Joy. Being filled with love for others. Miracle after miracle. First baptism. Happier than ever. Twelve weeks done. Transfer calls. Training??? Being a mom to a greenie. Patience. Learning way more from her than you could have ever taught her. Working together. Food.  Food.  Food and more food!! Sorry, I can’t eat anymore!! Finding people more prepared than you ever imagined. Teaching through the spirit. New area. Flushing and training????? Feeling inadequate. Not knowing anyone or any road. GPS. Trusting in the Lord. Snow, snow, snow. -40 degree weather. Feeling grateful for -15 degree weather. Frozen toes and fingers. Maple syrup on everything! Poutine. Quebecois accent. Milk in bags. Knocking on doors. Nobody interested. Working with members. Hastening the work. Consecrating yourself to the Lord and His work. Leaving your area. Hard goodbyes. More tears. City life. Montreal. Bus. Metro. Walking (BMW). Leadership split. Splits. Splits. Learning from others. Training’s. Numbers. Phone calls. Meetings. Who is my companion? YSA. Chasing down young adults. Loving the members. Talking to everyone. Sharing your testimony in the middle of the metro. Teaching the restoration in a bus. Crazy people! Exact obedience. Finding a best friend. Learning to rely on the Savior. Reading the Book of Mormon in 6 weeks. Missionary routine. Wake up. Pray. Run. Pray. Eat. Pray. Shower. Pray. Study. Pray. Study more. Pray, eat, pray, teach. Pray, teach, pray. Eat, pray, teach more. Pray, find. Pray. Plan. Pray. Sleep. Over and over. 🙂 Finding those who lost their way. Inviting others to come unto Christ. Baptismal invitations. Forgetting about yourself and loving the people. Feeling blessed for all Heavenly Father has given you. Temple. Welcoming people to the House of the Lord. Open house. In desperate need of sleep. Never giving up on others. Faith increasing. Wearing Christ’s name. Serving others. Feeling Quebec become a part of you. The change in others. The change in yourself. Working hard til the end. So many memories, so many great people. The people and friendships I will never forget.

Called to serve in the Canada Montreal Mission.

It is hard to express how I feel. I can’t imagine doing anything else for the last 18 months. I love my mission. It has brought me more joy than I ever imagined. My testimony has grown more than ever. I know this is the Lord’s work. I know that Christ’s church is on the earth today. I know that His church was restored by the prophet, Joseph Smith. That he was the chosen prophet and servant of the Lord to restore His gospel. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God. I know that it is true. I know that we can draw closer to our Heavenly Father and deepen our faith in Christ when we read it. As we read it daily in our life, we can be filled with happiness and peace. I know that we have a living prophet on the earth today, who leads and guides us. I know we have a Heavenly Father who loves us. He knows each one of us personally. We are His children and He loves us. He is always there and hears our prayers. I know that Jesus  Christ is His son. I know that He is our Savior and Redeemer. I know that because of our loving Savior, Jesus Christ and His atoning sacrifice, we can all make it back to our Heavenly Father to live with our families forever. I love this gospel. It is who I am! The gospel is just so wonderful! I love this work. I know my journey of discipleship has not ended, but has just begun!

I am excited to see you all!! I hope you have a great week. I can’t wait to see all of you in the next coming days and weeks. Thank you for all your love and support these last 18 months. It means the world to me.

Je vous aime tous,

Soeur Hunt

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

